LOI Round-Up - Dundalk signs Oostenbrink

4th January 2024

All the latest news from the League of Ireland

Christmas has come and gone for the League of Ireland Clubs preparing for the looming 2024 season with some headline names coming into the League in early January. 

The SSE Airtricity Men’s Premier Division Champions Shamrock Rovers have secured the loan signing of former St. Patrick’s Athletic winger Darragh Burns from MK Dons sparking much anticipation for the fixtures between the two this year once again. 

Stephen O’Donnell’s Dundalk have been busy getting ready for the new season at Oriel Park with the signing of Dutch midfielder Koen Oostenbrink who comes from the PSV Academy and FC Eindhoven. 

O’Donnell is pleased to add the midfielder to his squad as he told dundalkfc.com.

“Koen has an excellent pedigree. He came up through the PSV academy and helped FC Eindhoven to the playoffs in the Dutch second tier last year. He is a cultured midfielder who can play off both feet and he is good physically. He wants to kick on and progress his career and we’re really excited to have him here.”

In a departure, St. Patrick’s Athletic have announced that Adam Murphy has joined Championship side Bristol City on a three-and-a-half year-deal following a brilliant season ahead at Richmond Park. 

Derry City are also searching for a new striker after Jamie McGonigle ended his spell over two-years at The Ryan McBride Brandywell Stadium by joining Coleraine. Speculation has been escalating as to who will come in to aid The Candystripes' title challenge. 

Galway United have continued building their squad with the first professional contract for midfielder Steven Healy and a new deal for David Tarmey while Sligo Rovers announced that New Zealand international Nando Pijnaker will remain at the Showgrounds for 2024. 

New Manager Tim Clancy has added goalkeeper Aidan Dowling to the Cork City side ahead of their push for immediate promotion back to the SSE Airtricity Men’s Premier Division. 

Treaty United have re-signed Scott Kirkland for the 2024 season. 

Ken Kiernan has been busy getting for the new SSE Airtricity Women’s Premier Division season with the signings of Lynn Craven, Katie Lovely and newly recruited Aoibhe Brennan from Shelbourne and Orlagh Fitzpatrick from Treaty United. 

Wexford have added Emily Corbet, Mia Lenihan, Michaela Lawrence, Jess Lawler, Claudia Keenan and Rianna Jarrett to their squad for the new season. 

Eoin Wearen has started off his tenure at Shelbourne announcing the signatures of Nia Hannon, Lucy O’Rourke, Nadine Clare, Hannah Healy, Rebecca Devereux and Rachel Graham to their roster as they prepare to challenge once more for the SSE Airtricity Women’s Premier Division title.