LOI Round-Up - Forrester to see out career at Saints

21st December 2023
GAXHA 2024 1.png

All the latest from the League of Ireland negotiation tables.

League of Ireland Clubs were once more filing more pre-Christmas announcements across the three Divisions today with some big contract renewals and new signings. 

John Russell followed up the signing of Wilson Waweru with attacking midfielder Simon Power who arrives from Shamrock Rovers to Sligo Rovers for the 2024 SSE Airtricity Men’s Premier Division season. 

While the Bit O’Red had new faces in the door, it was an old familiar face in Dublin 8 that has been making life great for the Saints faithful that made the headlines as Chris Forrester extended his contract in the wake of becoming PFA Ireland Player of the Year in 2023. 

Also out west and after his departure from Sligo Rovers, David Cawley became the latest signing for Finn Harps as the Donegal side look to build a strong side capable of promotion again in 2024. 

Departing the SSE Airtricity Men’s First Division and into the SSE Airtricity Men’s Premier Division is Leo Gaxha who has signed for newly promoted Galway United after he shone for Kerry last year. 

Cobh Ramblers announced the signing of Liam Kervick from Waterford after he impressed at St. Colman’s Park last term in a boost to new Manager Gary Hunt who also re-signed James O’Leary and Darragh O’Sullivan-Connell. 

Wexford made a very important re-signing in their preparations for 2024 as Republic of Ireland U17 international Kaylem Harnett signed a new two-year-deal. 

With departures announced, Kerry FC did confirm the re-signing of goalkeeper Aaron O’Sullivan for the new season. 

In the SSE Airtricity Women’s Premier Division, Shelbourne announced their first re-signing for 2024 as Megan Smyth-Lynch put pen to paper at Tolka Park again while Eva Mangan re-signed for Cork City. 

There was a new signing for Cork City, however, as Orlaith O’Mahony has arrived from Shamrock Rovers to Turner’s Cross for 2024. 

DLR Waves continued to build their side as Goalkeeper Eve Badana returns for her 5th season having recorded 7 clean sheets in 2023.

Also returning is midfielder Rebecca McMahon who became a mainstay at the UCD Bowl last year.